News & Case Studies

20 June 2019

Celebrations all round for the nominees and winners at this years’ Rail Live Network Rail Plant Awards

Organised by the Rail Alliance on behalf of Network Rail, this was an evening to celebrate the best in Rail Plant in recognition of the success and achievements of outstanding companies in the supply chain who have demonstrated excellence in the delivery of products and services to the industry.

Our congratulations goes to all the nominees and winners:


Plant Safety Champion – Winner: McCulloch Rail


Award Presenter: Brian Paynter – Project Director, Plain Line – IP Track

Nominees: McCulloch Rail, SRS International, Balfour Beatty


Share with Pride Champion – Winner: Van Elle – RRV Derailment


Award Presenter: Steve Featherstone – Programme Director – IP Track

Nominees: Story – Liebherr Auxiliary Pump, TXM – Compressor failure, Van Elle – RRV Derailment


Best Supporting Organisation in 2018/19 – Winner: Shovlin Plant Hire


Award Presenter: Said Lahssioui – Alliance Director, S&C Alliance South – IP Track

Nominees: Shovlin Plant Hire, McCulloch Rail, Torrent Trackside


Plant Engineer of the Year Award 2018/19 – Winner: Carl Jones (GOS


Award Presenter: Pablo Forteza – Project Director, Engineering & Innovation – IP Track

Nominees: Carl Jones (GOS), David Richardson (High Output), Daniel Firman (Stobart Rail & Civils)


Most Innovative Small Plant – Winner: Cembre – Battery powered sleeper drill


Awards Presenter: Ben Brooks – Alliance Director, High Output – IP Track

Nominees: Hytorc – Battery Powered Wrench, Cembre – Battery powered sleeper drill, Hilti – Digital measuring device


Most Innovative RRV Product – Winner: Quattro – Madvax


Award Presenter: Steve Naybour – Project Director, Transformation – IP Track

Nominees: Quattro – Madvax, SRS – Volvo RRV MEWP, Balfour Beatty – De-clipper


Continuous Improvement Award – Winner: Story Contracting


Award Presenter: Emma Hancock – Business Change Manager, Transformation – IP Track

Nominees: A-Plant, Quattro, Story


OTM supplier demonstrating operational excellence – Winner: Swietelsky Babcock


Award Presenter: Mike Black – Director, Supply Chain Services – Route Services

Nominees: Colas High Output, Swietelsky Babcock, Volker


Best Performing Small Plant Supplier – Winner: Speedy Hire


Award presenter: Leigh Goble – Programme Manager, Plant Reliability – IP Track

Nominees: A-Plant, Speedy Hire, Torrent Trackside


Best Performing RRV Supplier – Winner: A.P. Webb


Award Presenter: Steve Featherstone – Programme Director – IP Track

Nominees: A.P.Webb Plant Hire, Quattro, Story Contracting

Eli Rees-King, Marketing Director at the Rail Alliance said, “Organising the Network Rail Plant Awards has become something of a tradition for us and something we look forward to every year.  It really is an evening to celebrate the hard work and dedication in the rail plant supply chain in delivering excellence in innovation and performance.  It is also a great opportunity for the rail supply chain to enjoy a fantastic evening and take advantage of some great networking.  We are especially pleased to be able to support Railway Children again and are delighted to announce that this year as a result of the dinner and an amazing £xxx was raised for this wonderful cause.


Our thanks also goes to this year’s guest speaker – renowned ex England rugby union player and TV and radio pundit Brian Moore for a great evening of entertainment.”

For any press enquiries contact Eli on 01789 720026

By using this website you agree to accept our Privacy Policy and Terms & Conditions



The Junction, Quinton Rail Technology Centre, Station Road, Long Marston, Stratford on Avon, Warwickshire, CV37 8PL.